Books With Attitude – Or Why I am Starting a Vintage Bookstore on Etsy

Well it has certainly been a ‘busy’ (read boring) couple of months for me! You might remember that on Boxing Day 2015,  I broke my ankle. The downside of this is that I have spent two months: laying around in pain, hobbling from the bedroom to the bathroom and generally training myself to use crutches, before wonder of wonders, being able to go downstairs again. Phew….talk about testing one’s patience!

I have since come to realise that there is an incredible upside to this torture. My hubby and daughter have noblely picked up the reins to steer this frisky horse that is our family life down a different trail. Hubby takes my daughter to school every morning and picks her up in the afternoons (of course, she has her Learners Licence so is really dropping herself to school and back). I no longer pack school lunches for daughter or dinners for hubby’s night shift. I went out a total of 5 times during the two month period….in the car, driven by others to not so far away places.In short, I have learnt how to relax! And have had plenty of time to think about the next stage of my Boomer life.

Not having the luxury to retire as yet, I have decided that I need to do something else (besides reading numerous novels and writing the occasional blog post) to fill the days and perhaps earn a little extra income. I have finally let go of the idea that I can return to my old (or ANY work for that matter),  as my fibromyalgia, bicuspid valve an extreme tiredness will not allow such nonsense.  So what do I do……?

Something with books of course!

I started cataloguing my 1000s of books. That took a few days, but with the aid of an app and a camera, I managed to put all of my hubby’s, daughter’s and my own books on a database. I then sorted out which ones I would keep in  my collection and which were duplicates or now superfluous to my needs. Another few days passed.

Soon the days began rolling by and after checking out ebay, Alibris, Abe Books, Trading Post, Gumtree, Shopify and Etsy, I have chosen the latter as my platform. At the moment I am busy listing my items on my “Books With Attitude” shopfront on Etsy Australia.

I have many interesting, surprising and dearly loved classics, fiction, cookery, biography and sci fi and fantasy books to offer. I have not yet posted the link to the hundred or so books that I want to stock my shelves with, merely because it is taking me for ever to do things ‘properly’. In the near future, I also intend to attend (or get hubby to attend) some local markets to show off my wares.

If you want a sneak peak please visit:

https://www.etsy.com/au/shop/BooksWithAttitude?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Please do not criticize or make suggestions at this point, as I know that the web page is a bit rough around the edges right now.

Anyway, if you’re into books, particularly of the vintage type, take a squizz. I hope to soon have something for everyone listed on the site!

Cheers,

Vikki

 

 

 

One thought on “Books With Attitude – Or Why I am Starting a Vintage Bookstore on Etsy

Got something to say?

